My big fat Greek wedding 2 (2016)

“Telegram, Telephone, Tel-a-greek”

Yesterday I decided it was time to visit the movies. I have been saying how much I wanted to go see “my big fat greek wedding 2” for so long now and I decided that it was now time to put my actions into words. It has been 14 years since the first movie was released. How do you create a sequel for a movie that came out before the iPhone was even released?

I loved My big fat greek wedding. It was such a feel good movie with loads of heart and laugh out loud worthy moments. The second movie lives up to the essence of the first. Watching how the big greek family that we all love has developed over time brings back such nostalgia that the first movie set up so well. Gus and Maria are still the warm, welcoming parents that love their children unconditionally. Aunt Voula still has plenty of words of wisdom to share and Toula and Ian are now the parents of a typical teenager who is just looking to find her place in the world.

The second movie is full of heart and “awww” moments which make it so lovely to watch. I feel that so many movies today are made with huge action sequences and loads of explosives but lack moments of sentiment and feeling. It’s great that we can blow peoples heads off and visual effect departments can create these massive, out of this world, explosions but what happened to heartfelt, date night, old school romantic movies that make you leave the cinema with a smile on your face because it was just so sweet and happy?

Our favorite Greek family is just as greek as ever and I must admit, I loved watching a family who is so proud of their traditions and origins. They stick by each other no matter what and it is so refreshing to watch a movie about what being a family really means- sticking together no matter how tough it gets.

When I go to the movies, I want to leave feeling happy and uplifted not depressed and freaked out. Yes opinions differ and we need action packed movies to satisfy the adrenaline junkies out there but that shouldn’t mean that the old school romantic comedy should get any less attention. I left the cinema feeling like I had the most wonderful afternoon. I laughed, I cried and I had fun. What more can you ask for?

*lights out*

Natalia

xxx

 

Leave a Reply

