Shonda Rhimes- Year of Yes

Hi everyone,

As some of you may know I am a HUGE Shonda Rhimes fan. I am obsessed with Grey’s anatomy and basically want to be like Shonda when I grow up. (haha) When I heard that her book “Year of Yes” was released I rushed to get my own copy. Anything that has been written by the Genius who brought us the most unbelievable medical series (totally my opinion, but still) must be great. Which is why I am EXTREMELY excited to be writing this review on such a wonderful book.

*warning* if you are a huge reader and only read novels that are 1000 pages or more than this book may not be for you but if you are someone like me, who needed a blast of inspiration. Who needed something to relate to. Who is sick of cliches like “think positively” then this book is DEFINANTLY for you!

In short, “Year of Yes” is about how Shonda managed to change her life around by saying yes to all the things that scared her. While this in itself is a fantastic triumph, her book did so much more for me. It gave me a complete inside to this woman and gave me a better and deeper understanding of the shows that have done so much for me in my life. I started watching Grey’s anatomy when I was writing my final exams in Matric. My incentive for studying would be to watch an episode (or 2) of the show afterwards. I rewarded myself with Shonda. Ever since, I have always had a special relationship with the characters in Grey’s because they have been there, helping me to keep going, no matter what.

There are many components that make this book a good read. But what I think makes this book special, is Shonda’s honesty. She completely allows the reader into her life. She doesn’t hide from the reader rather she speaks to you as a friend. And on top of that, any Shonda fan will recognise her style of writing from any one of her brilliant shows. She writes her book like she writes TV, and this makes it relatable because you feel like you already know her.

The book starts off with a Cristina Yang quote “If you want crappy things to stop happening to you, then stop accepting crap and demand something more” When something starts off with Cristina’s wise words, you know it’s going to be good! Cristina was and will always be my favourite Grey’s anatomy character and after reading this book and understanding why she was Shonda’s favourite too, my understanding of her has grown tremendously.

After reading this book, I want to say yes to things. I want to make my life better, I want to succeed. Perhaps I enjoyed this book so much because it landed in my hands during a time I really needed a life or because I am just such a fan of the author. But either way I am very happy that I now own this book and can refer to it whenever I please. There are so many encouraging words throughout the book, so many moments that I caught myself going “wow, that is just so true” so many times I wanted to dance it out because it made sense. IT MADE SENSE! It wasn’t some far fetched self-help book where you need to breathe and visualise a beach. It was raw and honest. It acknowledged the crappy side of life and then just kicked its ass!

Do yourself a favour and indulge in this book. Let yourself be moved. Allow yourself to want to make a better life for yourself.

“I am different. I am an original. And like everyone else, I am here to take up space in the universe. I do so with pride”- Shonda Rhimes.

*lights out*

Natalia

xxx

One thought on “Shonda Rhimes- Year of Yes

Leave a Reply

