Whats the Big deal about the Little Lies- part 2.

Hi everyone,

As promised, here is part two of my Big Little Lies review… We have discussed the TV version, now let’s talk about the book.

LIGHT BULB MOMENT

The book is fantastic! Big little lies was originally a book written by Liane Moriarty. The book follows the same story line as the series however some details and concepts are different. Which makes sense obviously because if you are planning to bring something to TV, you need to ensure that there is enough to keep the audience interested visually. I do not want to give away all the differences however there is one main difference that really makes the world of difference.

In the TV series, the story is lead by the adults. The parents in the story really lead the way which makes it feel like you are seeing this story play out with adult eyes. It works, don’t get me wrong, but it feels kind of usual. Big concepts, serious issues, adult eyes. In the book, however, it feels as if the story is being led by the children. And no, that does not mean it is written in a childish way. You just really understand how the adult’s actions affect the children which make it an interesting read.

My biggest issue with the series was all the driving that takes place. I forever felt like the adults were just driving around. For a girl that gets motion sickness, it was just too much driving for me! But that is not a factor in the book so I felt like I could really focus on the story. Something that really seemed to work for me was the casting, as I read the book the casting of the TV series totally made sense. I could understand why the actresses who were chosen were chosen.  I must say, I enjoyed this aspect. Having an idea of what the characters looked like, how they spoke and how they interacted with each other based on the Series.

If you are the type of person who likes to read a book before watching the movie/series than I think you might be disappointed with the series. But if you watched the series and enjoy books then definitely read the book. You will enjoy reading the story and the series will actually make more sense. I really loved the book, there were moments where I really did not want to put it down! The book may seem long at 500 or so pages, but it actually is a quick read. There are even some unexpected twists that are not part of the TV version….

Happy reading 🙂

Natalia

xxx

Leave a Reply

